Utah Education Savings Account (my529): How it Works and How to Use It for K–12 and Online School

Utah has two very different programs that people call an “education savings account,” and mixing them up costs families money. my529 is Utah’s tax-advantaged 529 savings plan, funded by you. The Utah Fits All Scholarship is a state-funded ESA award, funded by the legislature.

Both can be applied to tuition at an accredited private or online school, and understanding how tuition and enrollment work at Mountain Point Academy is easier once you know which program you are actually working with.

TL;DR

Two programs, two funding sources, two sets of paperwork. my529 is your own money growing tax-free, and Utah pays you back a small credit on what you put in. Utah Fits All is the state’s money, capped, awarded in priority order, and currently operating under appeal after a judge ruled it unconstitutional. Most families who use both treat my529 as the long game and the scholarship as this year’s tuition.

Key Takeaways

  • They are not the same thing. my529 is a 529 investment account you fund yourself. The Utah Fits All Scholarship is a state ESA award administered by Odyssey. The phrase “Utah Education Savings Account” gets used for both, which is where most of the confusion starts.
  • The federal K-12 cap doubled. As of January 1, 2026, you can withdraw up to $20,000 per student per year from a 529 for K-12 expenses, up from $10,000. Qualified K-12 expenses now reach beyond tuition to curriculum materials, tutoring, online learning platforms, and standardized test fees.
  • Utah gives a credit, not a deduction. For the 2026 tax year, my529 reports a 4.45% nonrefundable Utah income tax credit on contributions up to $2,560 per beneficiary for single filers and $5,120 for joint filers.
  • For K-12, the money comes to you first. my529 does not send electronic payments to K-12 schools. You pay the school and reimburse yourself, so itemized invoices matter.
  • The scholarship is under appeal. A district court ruled the Utah Fits All Scholarship unconstitutional in April 2025. It continues to operate while the Utah Supreme Court reviews the case, so treat future-year funding as unsettled.

my529 vs. the Utah Fits All Scholarship

Both pay for school. Almost nothing else about them matches.

my529Utah Fits All Scholarship
What it isA 529 investment account you ownA state-funded education savings account award
Who funds itYou, plus family and employer payroll deductionsThe Utah Legislature ($120 million appropriated for 2026-2027)
Who runs itmy529, a Utah state agencyOdyssey, program manager since May 16, 2025
Who it coversAny age, K-12 through postsecondary and credential programsK-12 Utah residents only
Annual amountWhatever you contribute, up to a $606,000 lifetime account balance$8,000 for private and microschool students; $4,000 (ages 5 to 11) or $6,000 (ages 12 to 18) for home-based learners
K-12 withdrawal limit$20,000 per student per year (federal cap, effective 2026)The award amount itself
How you get itOpen an account anytimeApply during the spring window; awards go in priority order, with random selection inside a tier
Tax benefitTax-deferred growth, tax-free qualified withdrawals, Utah credit on contributionsNot a tax program
Current statusStableOperating pending Utah Supreme Court appeal

Not sure which program applies to you?

Get a straight answer before you move any money

my529 and the Utah Fits All Scholarship have different rules, different paperwork, and different deadlines, and the routing gets re-decided every award year. We will confirm what applies to your student, what documentation you need, and how invoicing works, instead of leaving you to guess at it from a web page.

Schedule a Free Consultation

Prefer to call? Reach us at (801) 797-3001, Monday through Friday on Mountain Time.

How my529 works for K-12 and online school

my529 is Utah’s 529 plan. You contribute after-tax dollars, the balance grows tax-deferred, and withdrawals are free of federal income tax when they pay qualified education expenses. Anyone who is a U.S. resident can open an account for a beneficiary, and you do not have to live in Utah to use it.

What changed for 2026

Two federal changes matter for families paying K-12 tuition:

  • The annual K-12 withdrawal cap rose from $10,000 to $20,000 per student, effective January 1, 2026.
  • Qualified K-12 expenses expanded beyond tuition as of July 5, 2025, to include curriculum materials, tutoring from a qualified instructor, online education platforms, standardized test fees such as the SAT and ACT, qualifying disability-related educational services, and dual-enrollment coursework.

The second change is the one most families miss. If your student is enrolled online and you are buying course materials, test-prep, or an ACT registration on top of tuition, those costs may now be qualified. State treatment can lag federal law, so confirm Utah’s current position before you withdraw for a newly eligible category.

The Utah tax credit

Utah gives a nonrefundable credit, not a deduction. The distinction matters: a credit reduces the tax you owe dollar for dollar, while a deduction only reduces the income you are taxed on.

For the 2026 tax year, my529 reports a credit rate of 4.45% on contributions up to $2,560 per qualified beneficiary for single filers, worth up to $113.92, and up to $5,120 for joint filers, worth up to $227.84. The credit is claimed on what you contribute, not on what you withdraw. Rates and caps change annually, so verify the figures for your filing year with the Utah State Tax Commission before you file.

How the money actually reaches a school

Here is the part that trips people up. my529 can send electronic payments directly to many colleges, but K-12 institutions are excluded. my529 states that withdrawals for K-12 tuition are sent only to the account owner.

So the K-12 workflow is:

  1. Pay the school yourself.
  2. Get an itemized invoice showing student name, school, service dates, and amount.
  3. Request a withdrawal from my529 to your bank account.
  4. Keep the invoice, the paid receipt, and the bank record together.

Match the withdrawal to the same tax year as the expense. my529 issues Form 1099-Q for every withdrawal, and it is on you to show the money went to qualified costs.

How the Utah Fits All Scholarship works

The Utah Fits All Scholarship is the program most people mean when they say “Utah ESA.” It is open to any K-12 Utah resident regardless of where the student currently attends, including students entering kindergarten. There is no prior-public-school-enrollment requirement, but a student cannot be enrolled in a Utah district or charter school, or in the Statewide Online Education Program, at the time the scholarship is received.

Funds cover tuition at private schools and microschools, virtual school programs and individual courses, tutoring, curriculum and software, computer hardware once every three years, testing fees, special education services, and transportation up to $750 per year. Up to two-thirds of unspent funds can roll over. Our guide to what the scholarship will and will not reimburse covers the documentation Odyssey expects.

Demand outruns funding, so awards go out in priority order: renewals first, then siblings, then families at or below 300% of the federal poverty level, then everyone else, with random selection inside a tier. That threshold sorts applicants rather than disqualifying them, which our post on who actually qualifies for the scholarship walks through in detail.

Applications open March 1 for returning students and April 1 for new applicants. For current-year eligibility rules, deadlines, and award amounts, start there before you apply.

The part no one puts in the brochure

On April 18, 2025, a Utah district court ruled the program unconstitutional on two grounds: that it is not open to all children of the state, and that using income tax funds for it exceeds constitutional authority. The judge declined to halt the program, and it continues to operate while the state appeals to the Utah Supreme Court. Briefs were filed in early 2026. As of mid-2026 the court had not heard oral argument or issued a decision.

Practically: apply if you are eligible, but do not build a multi-year tuition plan on an award whose legal footing is still being decided.

How each option affects college financial aid

The FAFSA no longer uses the Expected Family Contribution. It was replaced by the Student Aid Index (SAI), and a higher SAI generally means less need-based aid.

Who owns the 529How the FAFSA treats it
ParentReported as a parent asset, assessed at up to 5.64%
Dependent studentAlso assessed at the parent rate of 5.64%
Independent student, no dependentsAssessed at up to 20%
Grandparent or other relativeNot reported as an asset, and distributions are no longer counted as student income

That last row is the change worth knowing. Under FAFSA simplification, the old “grandparent trap” is gone, and the timing gymnastics families used to run around it are largely obsolete.

Utah Fits All is a K-12 award, not a college asset, so it does not appear on the FAFSA as a 529 balance would.

What to do with money you do not use

Leftover 529 balances have four exits, roughly in order of how little they cost you:

  1. Change the beneficiary to another eligible family member. Generally tax-free when the new beneficiary qualifies under IRS rules.
  2. Roll to another 529 by trustee-to-trustee transfer. Watch the one-rollover-per-12-months limit for the same beneficiary.
  3. Roll to a Roth IRA in the beneficiary’s name. Up to $35,000 over their lifetime, capped each year at the annual Roth contribution limit. The account must have been open more than 15 years, the funds must have been in it 5 years, and the beneficiary needs earned income at least equal to the rollover.
  4. Take a non-qualified withdrawal. The earnings portion is taxable and carries an additional 10% federal tax, and Utah taxpayers must add back any amount previously used to claim the Utah my529 credit.

Exceptions to the 10% additional tax include a scholarship award (up to the scholarship amount), attendance at a U.S. military academy, and the death or disability of the beneficiary. Earnings are still taxable in those cases. Keep the award letter or supporting documentation.

Records to keep, and for how long

Keep documentation for at least three years after you file, and longer if you can. Many tax professionals suggest seven. The paperwork is far easier to save than to recreate.

For every education expense, hold onto:

  • The itemized invoice showing student name, school, service dates, and amount
  • Proof of enrollment dated on or before the expense
  • Proof of payment, meaning a bank or card statement or cleared check
  • The my529 withdrawal confirmation and the Form 1099-Q

A consistent file name helps more than a clever folder system. Something like 2026-01-03_Lastname_Tuition_Invoice.pdf sorts chronologically and reads clearly two years later.

Paying for an accredited online school with either program

Accreditation is usually the gating question. Both my529 and the Utah Fits All Scholarship point back to whether a school is legitimately accredited, and it is worth confirming before you commit funds. Mountain Point Academy is Cognia accredited, with initial accreditation in January 2020.

We offer accredited online programs for grades 6 to 12 and adult learners, all self-paced with a dedicated Academic Mentor and year-round open enrollment. Families most often ask about funding when they are looking at the online high school diploma program. Adult learners returning to finish sometimes apply 529 funds toward adult diploma completion or a credential program, though the Utah Fits All Scholarship is K-12 only and does not cover adult students.

Two things to sort out before you enroll anywhere:

  • Get the tuition line itemized. Whichever program you use, you need an invoice that separates tuition from anything that is not an education expense.
  • Know the timing. Withdrawals and award disbursements run on their own calendars. Our guide to the steps to enroll in an online school lays out the sequence, and what online high school typically costs gives you a range to plan against.

Funding sources and their rules change, so confirm with us which ones we currently accept before you apply anywhere. If you want help figuring out how a specific source lines up with a start date, book a free consultation or call us at (801) 797-3001. We will walk through the timeline with you before you move any money.

Frequently asked questions

Is my529 the same as the Utah Education Savings Account?

Not exactly. my529 was formerly named the Utah Educational Savings Plan, so the old name still circulates. Today “education savings account” more often refers to the Utah Fits All Scholarship, a state-funded ESA. When someone says Utah ESA, ask which one they mean.

Can I use my529 to pay tuition at an accredited online school?

Yes. Tuition at an accredited private or online K-12 school is a qualified 529 expense, subject to the $20,000 per student annual cap for 2026. my529 sends K-12 withdrawals to the account owner rather than the school, so you pay tuition first and reimburse yourself.

Can I use both my529 and the Utah Fits All Scholarship?

The programs do not conflict with each other, though the scholarship cannot be combined with public school funding. Families commonly use a scholarship award for the current year and keep 529 savings invested for later. Confirm current rules with Odyssey before you plan around it.

Does using a 529 for high school reduce college financial aid?

Indirectly. Spending the balance down on K-12 leaves less to report as a parent asset, and parent assets are assessed at only 5.64% under the Student Aid Index. The larger tradeoff is that money spent at 15 is not compounding until 18.

What happens to my529 money if my student earns a full scholarship?

You can withdraw an amount equal to the scholarship without the 10% additional federal tax. The earnings portion is still taxable. Keep the award letter with your records.

Do I need to live in Utah to open a my529 account?

No. Any U.S. resident can open an account for a beneficiary. Only Utah taxpayers can claim the Utah state tax credit on contributions.

Can grandparents contribute without hurting financial aid?

Yes, and this improved recently. Grandparent-owned 529 accounts are not reported as assets on the FAFSA, and distributions from them are no longer counted as student income.

What records does my529 want if I pay tuition myself and reimburse later?

Keep the itemized invoice, proof of enrollment dated on or before the expense, and proof of payment. my529 issues Form 1099-Q for the withdrawal; the supporting documentation is yours to retain.

What happens if the Utah Supreme Court strikes down the scholarship?

No one can say yet. The program is operating under an active appeal with no decision issued. Families relying on it should have a backup plan for tuition, which is a reasonable question to raise during an enrollment conversation.


Mountain Point Academy is an accredited online private school. This article is general information about education funding programs and is not tax, legal, or financial advice. Program rules, contribution limits, tax rates, and award amounts change, and the Utah Fits All Scholarship is subject to pending litigation. Verify current details with my529, the Utah State Tax Commission, IRS Publication 970, or a qualified tax professional before making decisions.

Reviewed by Sara Busalacchi, Executive Director and Co-Founder, Mountain Point Academy.